Contact zones of Europe from the 3rd mill. BC to the 1st mill. AD”

Conferences, Call for papers


CONTACT ZONES OF EUROPE

from the 3rd mill. BC to the 1st mill. AD.

International Scientific Conference

Humboldt Colleague

Moscow, 29 September – 2 October, 2017

 

The Institute of World History of the Russian Academy of Sciences and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Germany) with the financial support of the Russian Scientific Foundation (Russia) organize the International Scientific Conference “Contact zones of Europe from the 3rd mill. BC to the 1st mill. AD” in Moscow (Russia) .

 

Concept of the Conference.

The relationship between cultures belonging to different levels of social complexity is a very relevant topic in the contemporary world where the policy of multiculturalism has recently become an issue of controversial debate.

Europe is not only a geographical, but also a historical, political and socio-cultural concept. The common European identity has been shaped over thousands of years, despite the existence of societies of varying degrees of complexity and of different economic and cultural types. As a result, a powerful center has emerged which has been attractive for the populations of the border areas, causing migration processes of different scales since antiquity.

A contact zone may be defined as a cultural space (not necessarily well localized geographically, it may be mental), historically established as a result of the interaction of various natural and anthropogenic factors.

The existence of specific contact zones in Europe was already known in antiquity, which is reflected in the literary tradition, primarily in geographical and ethnographic works. The vast array of archaeological and anthropological data helps to clarify and verify the data of the Graeco-Roman written tradition. This requires the application of new methods of studying various sources, including the implementation of comprehensive multi-disciplinary research.

Identifying the genesis, ways and conditions of formation and development of different types of contact zones in ancient times may provide a key to understanding contemporary cultural and historical processes.

The lectures and posters will be focused on different forms of cultural contact, methods of their study, and various case studies based on the analysis of sources of different nature, primarily written and archaeological.

 

Aims of the Conference

- Presentation of the newest results obtained by both Russian and international scholars in their studies of European contact zones in antiquity to the international scientific community.

- Establishment and strengthening of contacts between scientific institutions of the Russian Federation, Germany and other countries.

- Strengthening of international professional networking between alumni of the A. von Humboldt Foundation.

- Rapprochement of scholars from the Russian Federation and abroad. Discussion of themes common to different branches of scholarship – history, archeology, anthropology, linguistics, cultural studies, ethnology.

- Involvement of young scientists of the Russian Federation in the discussion of problems of cross-cultural contacts.

 

ParticipationParticipation. The participation for all invited guests, including accommodation and meals during the conference, is free of charge. If it is necessary to help with the travel costs, please contact the Organizing Committee. There are three kinds of participation: 1) a lecturer; 2) a poster-speaker (mainly for young scholars); 3) an attendee (for Humboldt Scholars only). If you would like to present a lecture you are welcome but due to the limited time only a small number of lectures can be accepted, and their papers should be closely linked to the topic of the conference. Working languages of the Conference are English and German.

Pre-Registration dead-line. The 1st of March, 2017 is the dead-line for pre-registration. To pre-register, please fill-in the Questionnaire available on the Site and send it to the Organizing Committee by e-mail (contactzonesofeurope@gmail.com). We expect to get summaries of the presentations before the 1st of June, 2017.

Conference web-site: http://igh.ru/events/mezhdunarodnaya-nauchnaya-konferentsiya-kontaktnye-zony-evropy-v-iii-tys-do-ne-i-tys-ne?locale=en 

 

Questionary List of the Participant

1. Surname / Nachname.

2. Name / Vorname.

3. Acad. Status: 1) Undergraduate 2) Ph.D. Student, 3) Dr. 4) Prof. Dr. none /  Akad. Status: 1) Studen 2)  Doktorand; 3) Dr  4) Prof. Dr. 5) kein.

4. Research Area / Fachgebiet.

5. Affiliation, Address / Institution, Ort.

6. Country / Land.

7. Participant: 1) Humboldt Scholar 2) Researcher 3 )Young Researcher / Teilnehmer: 1) Humboldt Stipendiat(in) 2) Wissenschaftler; 3) Nachwuchswissenschaftler.

8. Form of Participation: 1) Lecture 2) Poster 3) Visitor / Form der Beteiligung: 1)Vortrag; 2) Poster  3)Besucher

9. Title of the Paper (Poster) / Titel des Vortrages (Posters).

10. Summary of the Lecture (Poster) Ca. 2000 Words / Zusammenfassung des Vortrages (Posters).  Ca. 2000 Wörter.

11. E-Mail.

12. Photo /  Foto.

 

We will be happy to see you in Moscow!

 

Co-chairs of the Organizing Committee

Prof. Askold Ivantchik

ivantchik@u-bordeaux-montaigne.fr

Dr. Valentina Mordvintseva

v_mordvintseva@mail.ru

 

Secretary of the Organizing Committee

Evgeniia Andreeva

aenik@yandex.ru

 contactzonesofeurope@gmail.com

04 Nov 2016

Contact zones of Europe from the 3rd mill. BC to the 1st mill. AD”
Start: 10:00, 29.09.2017
End: 18:00, 02.10.2017
Address: Москва

Международная научная конференция «Контактные зоны Европы в III тыс. до н.э. – I тыс. н.э.»

Конференции


Международная Научная Конференция


Москва, 29 сентября – 2 октября, 2017 г.

Институт всеобщей истории Российской академии наук и Фонд Александра фон Гумбольдта (Германия) организуют в Москве Международную научную конференцию «Контактные зоны Европы в III тыс. до н.э. – I тыс. н.э.» при финансовой поддержке фонда Российского Научного Фонда.

Концепция конференции.

Контакты между культурами различного уровня социальной сложности являются актуальной научной проблемой в современном мире, в котором политика мультикультурализма в последнее время остро дискутируется.

Европа – это не только географический, но и исторический, политический и социально-культурный концепт. Единая европейская идентичность формировалась на протяжении тысячелетий, несмотря на существование обществ различной степени сложности и различных хозяйственно-культурных типов. В результате возник мощный центр, притягательный для населения приграничных территорий, что уже в древности порождало миграционные процессы различного масштаба.

Контактная зона может быть определена как культурное пространство (не обязательно локализованное географически, оно может быть ментальным), исторически сложившееся в результате взаимодействия различных природных и антропогенных факторов.

Наличие специфических контактных зон в Европе было известно уже в древности, что нашло отражение в античной письменной традиции, в первую очередь в географических и этнографических сочинениях. Широкий спектр археологических и антропологических данных помогает уточнить и верифицировать данные греко-римской письменной традиции. Это требует применения новых методов изучения различных источников, включая осуществление комплексных мультидисциплинарных исследований.

Определение генезиса, путей и условий формирования и развития различных типов контактных зон в древние времена может дать ключ к пониманию современных культурно-исторических процессов.

Доклады и постеры будут посвящены различным формам межкультурных контактов и методам их изучения, а также конкретным тематическим исследованиям, основанным на анализе разноприродных источников, прежде всего письменных и археологических свидетельств.

Цели конференции.

- Ознакомление международного научного сообщества с результатами новейших исследований как российских, так и зарубежных ученых, в области изучения контактных зон Европы в древности.

- Создание и укрепление контактов между научными учреждениями Российской Федерации и Германии, а также других стран

- Укрепление международного профессионального общения между стипендиатами фонда А. фон Гумбольдта.

- Сближение российских и зарубежных ученых, обсуждение тем, общих для различных отраслей науки – истории, археологии, антропологии, лингвистики, культурологии, этнологии.

- Привлечение молодых ученых Российской Федерации к обсуждению проблем межкультурных контактов.

 
Участие в конференции. Участие для всех приглашенных гостей бесплатное (питание и проживание во время конференции предоставляется организаторами). Если участнику необходима помощь с транспортными расходами, пожалуйста, обращайтесь в Оргкомитет. Планируется три возможных вида участия: 1) в качестве лектора, 2) выступающего с постером (в основном, для молодых ученых) и 3) слушателя (возможно только для Гумбольдт-стипендиатов). Из-за ограниченного количества времени может быть принято лишь определенное число устных выступлений, и они должны быть тесно связаны с темой конференции. Рабочими языками конференции являются английский и немецкий языки.

Срок первичной регистрации. 1 марта 2017 года является крайним сроком для предварительной регистрации. Для регистрации, пожалуйста, заполните анкету, с которой можно ознакомиться на сайте, и отправьте ее в Оргкомитет по электронной почте (contactzonesofeurope@gmail.com). Мы ожидаем также получить резюме выступлений до 1 июня 2017 года.

Сайт конференции: http://igh.ru/events/mezhdunarodnaya-nauchnaya-konferentsiya-kontaktnye-zony-evropy-v-iii-tys-do-ne-i-tys-ne?locale=ru

Анкета участника / Questionary List of the Participant

1. Фамилия / Surname

2. Имя /  Name 

3. Академ. статус: 1) Студент 2) Аспирант 3) Кандидат наук 4) Доктор наук 5) нет  /  Acad. Status: 1) Undergraduate 2) Ph.D. Student, 3) Dr. 4) Prof. Dr. 5) none

4. Сфера научных интересов / Research Area

5. Организация, адрес / Affiliation, Address

6. Страна / Country

7. Участник: 1) Стипендиат фонда фон Гумбольта 2) Исследователь 3) Молодой исследователь / Participant: 1)  Humboldt Scholar 2) Researcher 3 )Young Researcher

8. Форма участия: 1) Доклад 2) Постерный доклад 3) Слушатель / Form of Participation: 1) Lecture 2) Poster 3) Visitor.

9. Название доклада (постера) / Title of the Paper (Poster) 

10. Резюме доклада (постера) Ок. 2000 слов / Summary of the Lecture (Poster) Ca. 2000 Words

11. E-Mail.

12. Фото / Photo 

Нам доставит огромное удовольствие встретиться с Вами в Москве!

 

Сопредседатели оргкомитета

Аскольд Игоревич Иванчик

ivantchik@u-bordeaux-montaigne.fr

Валентина Ивановна Мордвинцева

v_mordvintseva@mail.ru

Секретарь Оргкомитета

Евгения Николаевна Андреева

aenik@yandex.ru

 contactzonesofeurope@gmail.com


ПРЕДВАРИТЕЛЬНАЯ ПУБЛИКАЦИЯ ТЕЗИСОВ КОНФЕРЕНЦИИ 

04 нояб. 2016

Международная научная  конференция «Контактные зоны Европы в III тыс. до н.э. – I тыс. н.э.»
Начало: 10:00, 29.09.2017
Окончание: 18:00, 02.10.2017
Адрес: Москва
Программа